Boats & Paddles



Build a Wee Lassie Canoe

Larry Benjamin

The original Wee Lassie was a lapstrake-built open cedar canoe made in 1863 by J. Henry Rushton, of Canton, NY. Rushton was one of the most famous canoe builders of his era. George Washington Sears, who wrote of his adventures under his pen name of Nessmuk as he recorded his paddling adventures throughout the Adirondacks, popularized these small, finely crafted canoes. Come spend 11 wonderful days with master instructor Larry Benjamin building your own Wee Lassie. You will be guided through every step of the building process. Leave with a beautiful, lightweight canoe that handles well in the water. Open to all level of student.

  • Location: 18 Curran Street in Glens Falls, NY
  • Tuition:
         Members: $1100
         Non-members: $1150
  • Materials: $900
  • Total course cost due at registration time: $2000 (members)         $2050 (nonmembers)
  • Course Length: 11 Days

This class will take place at 18 Curran Street in Glens Falls, NY - the building located around the corner from the front entrance of the Shirt Factory Gallery.

Sessions:

1426-0401    Add registration to shopping cart

      Mon April 1, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue April 2, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed April 3, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu April 4, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri April 5, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Mon April 8, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue April 9, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed April 10, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu April 11, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri April 12, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Sat April 13, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm

1426-0923    Add registration to shopping cart

      Mon September 30, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue October 1, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed October 2, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu October 3, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri October 4, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Mon October 7, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue October 8, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed October 9, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu October 10, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri October 11, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Sat October 12, 2019 8:30 am - 5:30 pm




Paddle Making

Caleb Davis

Come and create your choice of a traditionally-shaped cherry paddle: a classic canoe paddle, a native double kayak/sit in the bottom canoe paddle, OR a stand-up paddle (SUP). After some history and an explanation of the shapes, you will pick your blank and get started using only hand tools to create your paddle! The process will be demonstrated from beginning to end to ensure that you come away with a perfect paddle. Two different adult sizes will be available for all paddles. For further details on the paddles you will be making, refer to the instructor's website at www.tremolopaddles.wcha.org. This one-day class will give you a sense of accomplishment as you complete a paddle that will accompany you on the water.

  • Location: AFS, 51 Main Street, Lake Luzerne, NY
  • Tuition:
         Members: $170
         Non-members: $190
  • Course Length: 1 Day

Students will need to contact AFS at the time of registration and tell which type of paddle they wish to make. All materials are provided. Material fees are included in price of tuition. Due to time constraints students are encouraged to bring their own lunch.

Sessions:

1333-0518    Add registration to shopping cart
      Sat May 18, 2019 9:00 am - 5:30 pm

1333-0706    Add registration to shopping cart
      Sat July 6, 2019 9:00 am - 5:30 pm

1333-0802    Add registration to shopping cart
      Fri August 2, 2019 9:00 am - 5:30 pm