Boats & Paddles



Build a Wee Lassie Canoe

Larry Benjamin

The original “Wee Lassie” was a lapstrake-built open cedar canoe made in 1863 by J. Henry Rushton, of Canton, NY. Rushton was one of the most famous canoe builders of his era. George Washington Sears, who wrote of his adventures under his pen name of “Nessmuk” as he recorded his paddling adventures throughout the Adirondacks, popularized these small, finely crafted canoes. Come spend 10 wonderful days at AFS building your own Wee Lassie. You will be guided through every step of the building process. Leave with a beautiful, lightweight canoe that handles well in the water. Open to all level of student.

  • Location: 18 Curran Street, Glens Falls, NY
  • Tuition:
         Members: $950
         Non-members: $1000
  • Materials: $900
  • Total course cost due at registration time: $1850 (members)         $1900 (nonmembers)
  • Course Length: 10 Days

This class will be taking place at 18 Curran Street in Glens Falls, NY - the building located next to the Shirt Factory Outlets.

Sessions:

1058-0510    This offering is full - add me to the waiting list
      Wed May 10, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Thu May 11, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Fri May 12, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Sat May 13, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Mon May 15, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Tue May 16, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Wed May 17, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Thu May 18, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Fri May 19, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Sat May 20, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm

1058-0724    This offering is full - add me to the waiting list
      Mon July 24, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Tue July 25, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Wed July 26, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Thu July 27, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Fri July 28, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Mon July 31, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Tue August 1, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Wed August 2, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Thu August 3, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
      Fri August 4, 2017 9:00 am - 4:00 pm




Paddle Making

Caleb Davis

Come and create a traditionally-shaped cherry paddle using only hand tools. You can make a canoe or native double blade (modified Greenland) paddle. After some history and an explanation of the shapes, you will pick your blank and get started! The process will be demonstrated from beginning to end to ensure that you come away with a perfect paddle. This one-day class will give you a sense of accomplishment as you complete a paddle that will accompany you on the water.

  • Location: AFS, 51 Main Street, Lake Luzerne, NY
  • Tuition:
         Members: $165
         Non-members: $185
  • Course Length: 1 Day

All materials are provided. Material fees are included in price of tuition.

Sessions:

1088-0702    Add registration to shopping cart
      Sun July 2, 2017 9:00 am - 5:00 pm