Boats & Paddles



Build a Wee Lassie Canoe

Larry Benjamin

The original “Wee Lassie” was a lapstrake-built open cedar canoe made in 1863 by J. Henry Rushton, of Canton, NY. Rushton was one of the most famous canoe builders of his era. George Washington Sears, who wrote of his adventures under his pen name of “Nessmuk” as he recorded his paddling adventures throughout the Adirondacks, popularized these small, finely crafted canoes. Come spend 11 wonderful days with master instructor Larry Benjamin building your own Wee Lassie. You will be guided through every step of the building process. Leave with a beautiful, lightweight canoe that handles well in the water. Open to all level of student.

  • Location: 18 Curran Street, Glens Falls, NY
  • Tuition:
         Members: $1100
         Non-members: $1150
  • Materials: $900
  • Total course cost due at registration time: $2000 (members)         $2050 (nonmembers)
  • Course Length: 10 ½ Days

This class will take place at 18 Curran Street in Glens Falls, NY - the building located next to the Shirt Factory Gallery.

Sessions:

1143-0205    Add registration to shopping cart

      Mon February 5, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue February 6, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed February 7, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu February 8, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri February 9, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Mon February 12, 2018 8:30 am - 8:30 am
      Tue February 13, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed February 14, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu February 15, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri February 16, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Sat February 17, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm

1143-0409    Add registration to shopping cart

      Mon April 9, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue April 10, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed April 11, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu April 12, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri April 13, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Mon April 16, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue April 17, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed April 18, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu April 19, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri April 20, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Sat April 21, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm

1143-0716    Add registration to shopping cart

      Mon July 16, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue July 17, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed July 18, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu July 19, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri July 20, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Mon July 23, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Tue July 24, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Wed July 25, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Thu July 26, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Fri July 27, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
      Sat July 28, 2018 8:30 am - 5:30 pm